Apple rolls out a new feature for iPadOS and iOS14, which notifies the users if the app is tracking their location or not

We all know that the new iOS 14 and iPadOS 14 are popular for their new privacy features that have not only made many companies like Facebook unhappy but have also made the data on the iPhone more secure. The company has started rolling out a new privacy feature on the iPhone and iPads for iOS 14 and iPadOS 14 which will inform the users if any apps are tracking their activity or not. The prompt has already started to appear in the beta of iOS 14.4 for many users. 

As per the details, each app will now have to explicitly ask the user if it can track their activities beyond the use of the concerned app. Once you have updated the Apple device with the update, users can visit Settings > Privacy to see which apps are tracking their activities and revoke their permission if they want. Those waiting for this feature to come on their device will have to wait until next year, after which you will be able to see a pop-up notification asking for tracking activity when the app is open after the device update. 

The feature was also confirmed in a tweet by Tim Cook last week and as per his post, “We believe users should have the choice over the data that is being collected about them and how it’s used. Facebook can continue to track users across apps and websites as before, App Tracking Transparency in iOS 14 will just require that they ask for your permission first.” It might seem that Facebook might still not be affected by the update for now, but the future updates are still something that will not benefit the company a lot.

SourceFirstpost

Recent Articles

Related Stories

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Updated - Get Tech News Updates to your Inbox.